Rufus Wainwright: Take All My Loves (9 Shakespeare Sonnets)

If, like me, you love Rufus Wainwright and Shakespeare, then this album will make you very, very happy. If, however, you like neither Shakespeare nor Rufus, it’s probably not your cup of tea. This unique collection of Shakespearean sonnets set to theatrical rock music features guests Florence Welch, Martha Wainwright, Anna Prohaska, Siân Phillips, Helena Bonham Carter, Carrie Fisher and William Shatner. But the true stars are Rufus Wainwright and William Shakespeare.

The first two tracks are okay, but a somewhat lackluster start. The album truly begins with the dazzling title track, which is far more Rufus than the Bard.

The standout track is “Unperfect Actor,” in which Helena Bonham Carter gives brief poetic recitation before the song explodes into rock symphony featuring Martha Wainwright and Fiona Cutler.

Other highlights are “When in Disgrace with Fortune and Men’s Eyes,” which is sang as a lovely ballad by Florence Welch, and Anna Prohaska’s operatic “Farewell.”

The album also features new, alternative versions of three sonnets Rufus originally recorded for his Songs for Lulu album: “When Most I Wink,” “For Shame” and “A Woman’s Face.”

Buy @ Amazon

Rufus Wainwright

Beyoncé New Album “Lemonade”

Beyoncé just released her new visual album, Lemonade, with a mind-blowingly mesmeric hour-long film of music, poetry, art and dance on HBO. The album is now available exclusively for streaming on Tidal. There are rumors it will eventually be released for download on iTunes, but no date has been announced yet. Tracklist below…

Lemonade Track List

1. “Pray You Catch Me”
2. “Hold Up”
3. “Don’t Hurt Yourself”
4. “Sorry”
5. “6 Inch”
6. “Daddy Lessons”
7. “Love Drought”
8. “Sandcastles”
9. “Forward”
10. “Freedom”
11. “All Night”
12. “Formation”

My Favorite Prince Songs

I can’t bring myself to write a proper tribute to Prince. My lifelong connection to him, his music and especially events in his life that mirrored my own is far too personal to share online. And anything less than that kind of honest reflection would feel inauthentic and unworthy of what he meant to music and to me. Instead I will simply offer a list of my personal favorite Prince songs, which I’ve been listening to ever since the shocking news of his death hit me yesterday. To paraphrase another’s words, Bowie was like someone you knew, Prince was like an essential part of our language. He was music.

“Greatest Romance Ever Sold”
“Thieves in the Temple”
“When Doves Cry”
“Little Red Corvette”
“Purple Rain”
“Darling Nikki”
“Get Off”
“Black Sweat”
“Raspberry Beret”
“I Would Die 4 U”
“Nothing Compares 2 U”
“When You Were Mine”
“If I was Your Girlfriend”
“Let’s Go Crazy”
“Diamonds & Pearls”
“Life Without End at Last”
“Dear Mr. Man”
“My Name is Prince”
“The Most Beautiful Girl in the World”
“You Got the Look”
“Baby I’m a Star”