’s Top 5 Albums of 2016

Surviving “WV’s 1,000-year flood” (and its endless aftermath) has taken all my time and energy this year. Only 5 albums were good enough to break through the chaos…’s Top 5 Albums of 2016

Honorable mention to Amanda Palmer’s masterpiece, “Machete,” which is an album of a song.

5. Todrick Hall: Straight Outta Oz

Buy @ Amazon

4. Childish Gambino: Awaken My Love!

Buy @ Amazon

3. Fantastic Negrito: The Last Days of Oakland

Buy @ Amazon

2. Saul Williams: MartyrLoserKing

Buy @ Amazon

1. Beyoncé: Lemonade

Lemonade was the only music I had immediately following the June flood, which took a huge chunk of my music collection along with my car. Beyoncé’s album would be magnificent in any circumstance, but it truly saved my sanity this year.

Buy @ Amazon

#Poetry Wed: Warsan Shire (aka #Lemonade Poet)

Beyond being an astounding work of art itself, Beyoncé’s new visual album, Lemonade, brought much deserved attention to Somali-British poet, Warsan Shire. So it seems appropriate to feature Shire as part of Muruch’s poetry series this week. As most know by now, Beyoncé read from Shire’s book, Teaching My Mother How To Give Birth, in Lemonade. The title poem from the book first appeared in Spook Magazine, a literary journal for which Shire serves as Poetry Editor.

“What We Have” by Warsan Shire

Our men do not belong to us. Even my own father, left one afternoon, is not mine. My brother is in prison, is not mine. My uncles, they go back home and they are shot in the head, are not mine. My cousins, stabbed in the street for being too—or not—enough, are not mine.

Then the men we try to love, say we carry too much loss, wear too much black, are too heavy to be around, much too sad to love…”

Read the rest of the poem at Poetry International. In addition to her written work, Shire has an album of spoken word poetry, Warsan Versus Melancholy, available on Bandcamp…

Beyoncé New Album “Lemonade”

Beyoncé just released her new visual album, Lemonade, with a mind-blowingly mesmeric hour-long film of music, poetry, art and dance on HBO. The album is now available exclusively for streaming on Tidal. There are rumors it will eventually be released for download on iTunes, but no date has been announced yet. Tracklist below…

Lemonade Track List

1. “Pray You Catch Me”
2. “Hold Up”
3. “Don’t Hurt Yourself”
4. “Sorry”
5. “6 Inch”
6. “Daddy Lessons”
7. “Love Drought”
8. “Sandcastles”
9. “Forward”
10. “Freedom”
11. “All Night”
12. “Formation”