Black Submarine

By: Brendan

The long-awaited debut album by Black Submarine has a title, New Shores, a release date, February 3rd, 2014, and a preview track on Soundcloud, which you can stream below. Nick McCabe and Simon Jones of The Verve teamed up with vocalist Amelia Tucker (you can download several mp3s at Amelia’s site), Goldfrapp string player Davide Rossi and Portishead percussionist Michele Schillace to form the group. They released an EP in 2011, which you can also stream below, under the name The Black Ships and also contributed to the Java Heat soundtrack earlier this year.

Buy @ Amazon
(Available February 3rd)

Soundtrack: Stealing Beauty

The eclectic soundtrack to the 1996 Bernardo Bertolucci film Stealing Beauty is another favourite of mine. The film was set in beautiful Tuscany, Italy and starred Liv Tyler, Jeremy Irons, and Rachel Weiss. Though the songs on the soundtrack aren’t directly related to the plot, many of them were used as background music in the film. And you can’t go wrong with Billie Holiday, Nina Simone, Mazzy Star, Portishead, Stevie Wonder, and Cocteau Twins.

The soundtrack has a lot of atmospheric, sexy, and sometimes funky songs by the hot “alternative” bands of the time: Hoover’s “2 Wicky”, Portishead’s “Glory Box”, Axiom Funk’s cover of “If 6 Was 9” (originally by Jimi Hendrix), Liz Phair’s “Rocket Boy”, Mazzy Star’s “Rhymes Of An Hour”, Cocteau Twins’ “Alice”, Lori Carson’s “You Won’t Fall”, and “I Need Love” Sam Phillips.

And then there are the classics: Nina Simone’s “My Baby Just Cares For Me”, Stevie Wonder’s “Superstition”, and Billie Holiday’s “I’ll Be Seeing You.

As someone who likes a little bit of everything when it comes to music, Stealing Beauty is possibly the perfect mixed CD.

Buy the CD
Buy the DVD