Tori Amos: New Album & Song!

Tori Amos will release her fourteenth studio album, Unrepentant Geraldines, on May 13th. You can hear the album’s first single, “Trouble’s Lament,” below. Tori’s press release claims the new album marks a return to her original piano siren, chamber-pop sound and this song holds true to that promise. It’s a very exciting for us old school Tori Amos fans.

Unrepentant Geraldines Tracklist:

1. America
2. Trouble’s Lament
3. Wild Way
4. Wedding Day
5. Weatherman
6. 16 Shades of Blue
7. Maids of Elfen-mere
8. Promise
9. Giant’s Rolling Pin
10. Selkie
11. Unrepentant Geraldines
12. Oysters
13. Rose Dover
14. Invisible Boy

Pre-Order @ Amazon

Tori Amos Official Site

Tori Amos: Interview & Classical Playlist!

Music critic and author Norman Lebrecht interviewed Tori Amos about her new classical musical, The Light Princess. Even more interesting, his website features a Tori Amos playlist which matches up songs from her Night of the Hunters album with the original classical works by Chopin and other composers from which she sampled from. You can download the interview and stream the playlist at the links below…

Tori Amos Interview (download page)

Tori Amos Classical Playlist (streaming audio page)

Allison Crowe: Famous Blue Raincoat Video Premiere!

Allison Crowe’s upcoming album, Heavy Graces, will feature two covers of Leonard Cohen’s “Famous Blue Raincoat” and the video for the “Choral” version has just been released. The video sets Allison’s music to scenes from the classic Marlene Dietrich film, The Blue Angel. As much as I love Allison’s voice, I really couldn’t imagine any cover of “Famous Blue Raincoat” surpassing Cohen’s original or Tori Amos‘ beautiful piano rendition. Yet where Cohen took the song to a melancholy depth and Tori gave it a bittersweet wistfulness, Allison gives the song a new feeling of suspense with a slightly faster pace and choral embellishments. Her cover at times recalls the elegance of Joan Baez‘ operatic folk rendering. And, as always, Allison’s vocal is gorgeous, multi-faceted and full of emotion and grace. You can watch it below….

Allison Crowe Official Site

Buy @ Amazon (Available Oct. 15th)

Allison Crowe: Cover of Tori Amos’ 1,000 Oceans

When I first discovered Allison’s music in 2005, it was through her covers of Tori Amos songs. Allison just posted her cover of Tori Amos’ “1,000 Oceans” to her ever-growing SoundCloud page and you can stream it below. As impressive as the cover is, it pales in comparison to Allison’s own music – such as the classic Allison Crowe mp3s I posted last week. In case you missed it, you can also hear her cover of “Hallelujah” in this post and, more importantly, download several new mp3s in my review of her new album, Newfoundland Vinyl.

Tori Amos: Sin Palabras (Night Of Hunters Instrumental)

When I reviewed Tori Amos’ new classical-inspired album, Night Of Hunters, I said: “I hope the powers that be at Deutsche Grammophon can convince Tori to record a purely classical album next time around.” My wish has been granted with the label’s release of an exquisite instrumental version of the album entitled Sin Palabras (Without Words).

Sin Palabras has all of the strengths of Night Of Hunters, yet none of the weaknesses that plagued that album’s vocal trickery and lyrical fantasy. As a result, even songs that I found irksome in their original form – such as “Cactus Practice,” which incorporates Chopin’s “Nocturne Op. 9 No. 1″ – sound absolutely lovely sans vocals.

This gorgeous instrumental version illuminates all of the intricacies and nuances of the arrangements. The brilliance of Tori’s piano playing, as well as that of her accompanying orchestra musicians, is put on full and stunning display.

Following is the track list for Sin Palabras along with the classical works sampled in each song:

1. Shattering Sea (Alkan: Song of the Madwoman on the Sea-Shore, Prelude op. 31 no. 8 )
2. SnowBlind (Granados: Añoranza – from 6 Pieces on Spanish Folksongs)
3. Battle of Trees (Satie: Gnossienne no. 1)
4. Fearlessness (Granados: Orientale from 12 Spanish Dances)
5. Cactus Practice (Chopin: Nocturne op. 9 no. 1)
6. Star Whisperer (Schubert: Andantino from Piano Sonata in A major D 959)
7. Job’s Coffin
8. Nautical Twilight (Mendelssohn: Venetian Boat Song from Songs Without Words op. 30)
9. Your Ghost (Schumann: Theme and Variations in E flat major WoO 24 from Ghost Variations)
10. Edge of the Moon (Bach: Siciliano from Flute Sonata BWV 1031)
11. The Chase (Mussorgsky: The Old Castle from Pictures at an Exhibition)
12. Night of Hunters (Scarlatti: Sonata in F minor, K.466 and the Gregorian Chant “Salva Regina”)
13. Seven Sisters (Bach: Prelude in C minor)
14. Carry (Debussy: The Girl with the Flaxen Hair, from Preludes I)

Whether you loved or hated Night of the Hunters, or experienced mixed feelings as I did, I highly recommend Sin Palabras. It’s one of the most beautiful recordings I’ve ever heard. So much so that I added it to my Top 25 Albums of 2011, which already included Night of the Hunters.

BUY @ AMAZON (only $4.99!)

Night of Hunters (Sin Palabras) [Instrumental Without Words] - Tori Amos