​#Poetry Wed: “Forms of Protest” by Elyse Fenton

“All month long police in riot gear
crowded the city like novitiate whales

learning the trick of baleen. Of all
the underwater currents never mind

the one that’s going to turn. A mother
I know just buried her son…”

Read the rest of the poem at Southern Humanities.